Props to My Classmates & Fellow Bloggers

glenn-carstens-peters-203007

When a lot of people hear the word blogger, they think of some cheeto-fingered dude angrily typing out conspiracy theories and revolutionary manifestos from his parent’s basement.

I’m happy to report that the “Geneva Inklings,” the collection of students in Dr. Williams’s Publishing class, nuke that stereotype out of existence (cheetos are pretty good though).

All of us have contributed to the Geneva Inklings blog, regardless of prior blogging experience, and I think my classmates have put out a solid product.

How do I know?

I like to read what everyone’s putting out there, and I try to keep up with what’s published on the Geneva Inklings, which means I check every few days and read some of the posts. I don’t get to all of them, so my batting average doesn’t look so good in that area. But what I do read, I seriously enjoy.

That’s why I often find myself clicking the “like” button for the posts, even though it makes me feel like a creeper. It’s like giving an air-five to someone who’s too far away: awkward but necessary.

I think when you take a bunch of college students and ask them to give their thoughts on writing, college life, and daily experiences—you get a combination of wit, humor, and insight that makes blogging look like a respectable venture after all.

In college, the whole “experience diverse perspectives” gets worn out before you even reach campus, but it’s true. In a sense, our blogs reveal a bit of our personalities, tastes, and worldviews.

No doubt I’ve had my eyes opened just by reading a 500 word blog post. It may be a single sentence, joke, or opinion that causes me to see a topic from a fresh angle or simply enjoy the quality of writing.

Blog posts are bite-sized stories, and like anyone else in the world, I love a good story. If you’re reading this and not part of the Geneva bubble, take a look at some of the other bloggers’ posts and you’ll discover what I’m talking about.

So to my classmates, thanks for all the stories and topics.

For all the other readers, if you like the content we’ve been sending down the line, then you’ll love what’s coming out on April 10th on amazon.com. Finally, The Oddities of Room 34, our collection of short stories, will be available for $7.50.

If there’s one word I can use to describe some of the stories, it’s intense. After reading just a few, you’ll have to blink twice, flex jour jaw, and pinch yourself before you realize that it’s just fiction. These short stories aren’t some ham-fisted gaggle of half-hearted attempts. Far from it—we’ve been editing and revising and rewriting for some time now.

This is the kind of book that will make you reconsider the whole, “but reading doesn’t interest me” excuse. Just remember. The Oddities of Room 34. April 10th. $7.50. Amazon.com. Don’t miss out!


Author’s Note: This post is part of an ongoing series of articles that will chart the progress I’m making on writing a short story. The story will be part of a larger Geneva College project in which students from Dr. Williams’s ENG 344 Publishing compile their short stories into a published collection for the campus. Check us out on Facebook under “Geneva Inklings.”


Kevin Cochrane is a writer and college student. Like what you read? Follow him on Twitter @RunFree_KC, find him on Facebook, or click the follow button at the bottom of the page to get Town Crier’s latest updates. Want to read more? Visit his blog at restandrefuge.wordpress.com which offers a Christian perspective on the surrounding culture. You can contact him with comments or questions at kevincochrane316@yahoo.com.

 

One Reply to “Props to My Classmates & Fellow Bloggers”

Leave a Reply

